top of page
Search
  • juenyanggoh3199

Interview 8: Lisa

“I keep up with the news quite often and surprisingly I don’t know much about immigration reform since there’s barely any coverage on it, at least as far as I remember. I didn’t know there were plans created after DACA except for rumored amnesty which happens once every decade or so I believe. I have a few friends that are under the DACA program so I am somewhat familiar on it. It matters to me because I have close friends that are in the DACA program and I know that they are worried about their future here in America. Although DACA is a good program and it provides opportunities for immigrants, I do believe more people should be able to enlist in a new program as a lot of people are still illegal or don’t have proper documents to be barred from deportation. Especially with the influx of ICE raids and fear of people barging into your home deporting families or detaining them, it’s terrifying. I do spread awareness as much as I can through social media but I wouldn’t say that I actively participate in rallies which I should. I do know a handful of undocumented/DACA recipients. Living in the Asian community in NYC you tend to find out a lot of people come here for new opportunities yet it makes it so hard with no legal working papers. I believe NYC is overpopulated in general, immigrants or not. There shouldn’t be a reason why we deport immigrants if they are law abiding individuals.”



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page