top of page
Search
  • juenyanggoh3199

Interview 11: Benny

“ I don’t know much about on-going immigration reform. I didn’t know there were more plans created after DACA, I assumed that it was a program that any immigrant could sign up for? DACA is basically for child immigrants that were brought in illegally by their parents and DACA is a way for them to live here “legally” correct? I have no clue what the next plan after DACA is. Plan C sounds like a good plan but since it has been rejected there’s nothing much on our end to do anything about it. I believe the government is still recovering from Covid and it’s ongoing troubles with Ukraine and Russia in which immigration is the lowest priority for them at the moment the way I see it. I am not active on social media so it’s hard to spread awareness but I do care about how it would affect close friends of mine. I believe a few of them are under the DACA program yet I know they live in fear of deportation and they live a very limited lifestyle where they can’t do certain things because they are not citizens. Yes, my friends although are not afraid of deportation themselves, they are worried about what might happen to their relatives. They dropped everything they had back in their native country to come here, so it’s terrifying for them to think that they can be deported any second. I don’t believe overpopulation is a problem in NYC because of immigrants. I don’t believe we’re overpopulated at all, people who move to NYC know what they’re signing up for and shouldn’t complain when streets are packed like sardines.”


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page