top of page
Search
  • juenyanggoh3199

Interview 10: Melissa

“ I try my best to keep up with on-going immigration reform but it’s hard since there’s barely any coverage on the news. I only specifically keep up online because I have close friends and relatives that are living in fear of deportation. Yes it’s always a sense of false hope that the government gives us by releasing news on new plans such as the recently failed Plan C I believe. Plan C was a great opportunity for the government to make money but I think the timing was unfortunate as a majority of the funds were allocated to covid relief, but the idea I thought was great. Rather than providing everybody amnesty as it should happen every decade or so, making immigrants pay a moderate fee on a yearly basis to work in the United States I thought seemed fair. I spread awareness as much as I can although I don’t attend any rallies as it’s just not my scene. Social media I believe is powerful enough to influence this generation regardless. Close friends and relatives as I mentioned before are always terrified of ICE barging into their homes and deporting them which is the harsh truth for illegal immigrants living in America. Overpopulation isn’t a real thing in NYC it’s just the normal population of a popular city much like Los Angeles. Immigration shouldn’t be coming into topic if people are complaining of overpopulation, they live the same lives as us with the added burden of fear for deportation.”


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page