top of page
Search
  • juenyanggoh3199

Interview 4: Hunter

“The last I heard about immigration reform was President Trump was attempting to scrap DACA with no remorse for the immigrant community, I do not actively keep myself updated with news about immigration though. I do care to a certain extent but since it doesn’t affect me heavily it doesn’t come to mind when I think of these empty promise plans. One thing I don’t understand is that if immigrants are more than capable to work for our country, why not let them if they aren’t disobeying any laws? I do know what DACA is since I have multiple friends that I grew up with that are apart of that program and I think it’s amazing, it allows them to stay in the country and work without the fear of deportation. In a sense it’s giving them a temporary card of citizenship and as long as they follow all the laws, I think the plan is great. I believe the next plan after DACA was the “Promise Act?” *Plan C introduced* I believe it does impact me indirectly as a minority living in America I can sympathize with how the immigrants feel and the fear of stereotypes attacking them. Being a black man, I am bound to run into stereotypes of my demographic even though I worked hard to where I am today. Much like immigrants that they are automatically assumed to be law breaking individuals and criminals which is the propaganda that Trump produced. It matters to me because we live in a world where the judgement of others can be used horribly and ruin the image of not just one person but the whole demographic in its entirety. I do plan on spreading awareness as much as I can on social media but I could take the extra step in terms of participating in rallies and protests for immigration reform. I have a few friends that are undocumented/illegal that are constantly worried about deportation. The fear has since diminished since Trump left the office but I don’t believe Biden is doing anything to negate that fear as he recently provided more funding for ICE as well. NYC is always going to be overpopulated, immigrants are not the problem, you are not a real "New Yorker" if you think immigrants are the reason for overpopulation."


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page