top of page
Search
  • juenyanggoh3199

Interview 2: Suzanne

“The last that I’ve heard about immigration reform was plan C but I don’t know if that bill ever went through. Of course I care about plans after DACA but it’s hard for bills like these to be passed since a lot of people have to agree to vote on it. Yeah DACA is the dreamer’s act that allows children that entered the country at an early age to stay and legally work here. I believe it was plan C but it could be something in the middle of DACA and plan C. *Plan C introduced* Yeah that’s the general understanding that I got from the news, but there is so little coverage on it that it was hard to keep track of. It matters because I know some close relatives and friends that are undocumented or were once undocumented. Since it’s such a harsh topic to bring to light, it’s hard to spread awareness without drawing a lot of attention to yourself, but anything that keeps attention to a minimum I would be open to consider. I do know a few relatives and friends that are constantly worried about finding their next job or getting deported. Many people are struggling to send money back to their mother country in hopes of supporting their families, why should they have an extra burden to worry about with deportation? I don’t believe immigration is the problem for overpopulation in NYC, they come here ready for opportunities and if they are law abiding individuals what’s the harm in that? Typically, they are working jobs that citizens don’t want to do and they work at a low wage benefiting the companies that they work for. As long as they pay their taxes and don’t commit crimes, I see no problem with bringing in immigrants."


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page